MEGA Awards Kicks Off Fourth Season As Voting Starts

Posted on October 16, 2016



One of the MEGA Award winners

The Music & Entertainment Gospel Awards (aka MEGA Awards) has commenced activities for the hosting of the 2016 edition of the rewarding platform launched to recognize and celebrate outstanding performances and exemplary talents in Nigerian gospel music community.

In a statement released by Mrs. Iretunde Akintunde-Johnson, Administrator, Central Working Committee of MEGA 2016, the annual awards in its fourth edition will hold on 20 November and voting starts on Monday, 17 October on two platforms only: the website of the awards, and its Facebook page, Voting ends few days before the awards night.

According to her, “In spite of the dreary economic and political climate of the country, the gospel music industry continues to ferment creatively and produce exquisite blend of entertainment and ministration.

“Incidentally, Nigerian lovers of gospel music will soon have the opportunity of voting for their favorites pre-nominated in at least 13 award categories, including artiste and best new artiste of the year, inspirational song, music video, etc.

 She noted that early in May, calls for entries rang out, and submission of entries for screening was even extended up till mid July but the screening committee and Body of Judges have since been mobilized, and working hard to deliver as best as they can.

The last three editions of the awards were held at The Haven Event Centre, GRA, Ikeja, Lagos and they were well-received and admirably supported with widespread media coverage, said Akintunde-Johnson.

But after three seasons at The Haven, this year’s event is holding at the main auditorium of Alausa, Ikeja-based NECA House edifice.

MEGA Awards Body of Judges/Screeners include Revd. Ekpeyong Bassey (Karis Band), Mr. Laolu Akintobi (aka Laolu Akins, ace producer/music advocate), Pastor Paul Tao El-Shaddai (veteran instrumentalist/producer),  Evang. Tolu Gaye (ex-A&R Mgr, EMI), Mr. Funmi Onabolu (GMD, Cosse Group), and Broda Martyns.

Others are Amos McRoy Jegg (recording artistes/ministers), Mr. Muyiwa Majekodunmi (of famed Jazzville/Praiseville concerns); Pastor Uche Chikwendu (youth/music minister), Ms Gloria Rhodes (of Steve Rhodes Voices fame), and Pastor Abayomi Oladiji (Regional Coordinator, RCCG Drama).

MEGA’s first statement in 2016 was the successful organisation of the first Winners’ Concert and Dinner Gala. It was a spectacular night of camaraderie and quality music, featuring Kenny  K’ore, Eben, Mike Abdul, Cute Sagay, Psalmos, Aimee, Da’son and Ify Chukwu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest News

BY DARE BABARINSA  Young Nigerians may not understand the enormity of Chief Obafemi Awolowo,... Continue
The All Progressives Congress (APC) says it plans to challenge the results of the 16 July... Continue
Ikeja Electric Plc (IE), Nigeria’s leading electricity distribution company, has trained 140 employees to... Continue
All Progressives Congress Presidential Candidate, Asíwájú Bola Tinubu, has congratulated the Founder and Chairman... Continue
All Progressives Congress Presidential Candidate, Asíwájú Bola Tinubu, has congratulated the Founder and Chairman... Continue
Iconic actor Oludotun Baiyewun Jacobs who is popular as Olu Jacobs was Wednesday in... Continue
Tempers were high in the Big Brother Level 1 house on Thursday afternoon, as... Continue
National Coalition of Tinubu Support Groups (NCTSG) says it has garnered over 25 million... Continue
  KENE ONYEDIKA MAXMILLIAN    Ever-present African flagbearers Nigeria departed the shores of the... Continue
Nigeria’s current security challenges and emerging threats require the country’s military and other relevant... Continue


Access Bank