Asake, Burna Boy, Rema Bag 2024 Brit Awards Nominations

Posted on January 26, 2024

Nigerian Afrobeats singers Burna Boy, Asake and Rema have been nominated for the 2024 BRIT Awards, scheduled to be broadcast live on 2 March 2024 on ITV1 and ITVX.

The nominations for the annual music awards were unveiled on Wednesday during the ‘Bring on The BRITs with Mastercard: The 2024 Nominations’, a 30-minute special streamed across the BRITs’ official Instagram and Facebook.

The BRIT Awards are the British Phonographic Industry’s annual popular music awards.

Burna Boy and Asake were nominated in the International Artiste of the Year category.

Rema’s ‘Calm Down’ was nominated in the highly coveted International Song of the Year category.

Burna Boy and Asake will battle the International Artiste of the Year category with global superstars such as Caroline Polachek, CMAT, Kylie Minogue, Lana Del Rey, Miley Cyrus, Olivia Rodrigo, SZA, and Taylor Swift. Olivia, Miley and SZA.

Rema’s ‘Calm Down’ will contest the International Song of the Year category with global hits like Billie Eilish’s ‘What Was I Made For’, David Kushner’s ‘Daylight’, Doja Cat’s ‘Paint The Town Red’, Jazzy’s ‘Giving Me’, Libianca’s ‘People’, Meghan Trainor’s ‘Made You Look’, Miley Cyrus’ ‘Flowers’, Noah Kahan’s ‘Stick Season’, Oliver Tree & Robin Schulz’s ‘Miss You’, Olivia Rodrigo’s ‘vampire’, Peggy Gou’s ‘(It Goes Like) Nanana’, SZA’s ‘Kill Bill’, Tate McRae’s ‘greedy’ and Tyla’s ‘Water’.

According to the BRIT Awards, British singer, Rachel Agatha Keen, known as RAYE, broke the Awards record after receiving the most nominations of any artiste in a year.

RAYE surpassed a record previously jointly held by Gorillaz, Craig David, and Robbie Williams — who had each been nominated for six awards in a year.

2002 Gorillaz was nominated in six categories, Craig David in 2001 and Robbie Williams in 1999.

According to the awards organiser, the number of nominees for both Artiste of the Year and International Artiste of the Year was increased from five to ten, a change aimed at improving representation and inclusion.

Also, a new genre award category, R&B Act, was introduced along with Alternative/Rock Acts, Dance Acts, Pop Acts, Hip Hop/Grime/Rap Act aimed at showcasing the versatility, creativity and diverse styles of music in the UK.

See the complete list of nominations below:

Mastercard Album of the Year

Blur – The Ballad of Darren

J Hus – Beautiful And Brutal Yard

Little Simz – NO THANK YOU

RAYE – My 21st Century Blues

Young Fathers – Heavy Heavy


Artiste of the Year

Arlo Parks

Central Cee


Dua Lipa

Fred again.

J Hus

Jessie Ware

Little Simz

Olivia Dean



Song of the Year

Calvin Harris/Ellie Goulding – Miracle

cassö/RAYE/D-Block Europe – Prada

Central Cee – Let Go

Dave & Central Cee – Sprinter

Dua Lipa – Dance The Night (From Barbie The Album)

Ed Sheeran – Eyes Closed

J Hus ft Drake – Who Told You

Kenya Grace – Strangers

Lewis Capaldi – Wish You The Best

PinkPantheress – Boy’s a liar

RAYE ft. 070 Shake – Escapism.

Rudimental/Charlotte Plank/Vibe Chemistry – Dancing Is Healing

Stormzy ft. Debbie – Firebabe

Switch Disco & Ella Henderson – REACT

Venbee & Goddard – Messy In Heaven


Group of the Year


Chase & Status

Headie One & K-Trap


Young Fathers


Best New Artiste


Olivia Dean



Yussef Dayes


International Artiste of the Year


Burna Boy

Caroline Polachek


Kylie Minogue

Lana Del Rey

Miley Cyrus

Olivia Rodrigo


Taylor Swift


International Song of the Year

Billie Eilish – What Was I Made For

David Kushner – Daylight

Doja Cat – Paint The Town Red

Jazzy – Giving Me

Libianca – People

Meghan Trainor – Made You Look

Miley Cyrus – Flowers

Noah Kahan – Stick Season

Oliver Tree & Robin Schulz – Miss You

Olivia Rodrigo – vampire

Peggy Gou – (It Goes Like) Nanana

Rema – Calm Down

SZA – Kill Bill

Tate McRae – greedy

Tyla – Water


International Group of the Year



Foo Fighters




Alternative Rock Act


Bring Me The Horizon

The Rolling Stones

Young Fathers

Yussef Dayes


Hip Hop/Grime/Rap Act


Central Cee


J Hus

Little Simz


Dance Act

Barry Can’t Swim

Becky Hill

Calvin Harris

Fred again


Pop Act

Calvin Harris

Charli XCX

Dua Lipa

Olivia Dean



R&B Act

Cleo Sol

Jorja Smith




Rising Star

Caity Baser


The Last Dinner Party

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest News

BY FEMI ONAKANREN Recently, the media space has been agog with different plausible explanations... Continue
The Anambra Internal Revenue Service in conjunction with the Chartered Institute of Taxation of... Continue
ADEDAMOLA KOLEDOYE  Democracy is defined as the government of the people, by the people,... Continue
In what could be described as a shock and dramatic turn out of events,... Continue
MICHAEL AKINOLA    A 42-year old man, Mordi Collins, who allegedly posed as a... Continue
CHRISTIAN ABURIME      “Carve your name on hearts, not tombstones.” – Shannon Alder... Continue
Tension may heighten within the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, concerning the constitution of... Continue
10 key points from the Central Bank Governor, Dr Yemi Cardoso’s interaction on the... Continue
  Charles Okafor was born on July 23, 1960, in Umuleri Anambra Southeast region... Continue
On Tuesday, 16th April, 2024, in a strategic move aimed at securing victory in... Continue


Access Bank